Situated in the walled city of Mdina, Malta’s former capital, Palazzo Falson is the second oldest structure still standing. Fashioned on the Siculo-Norman examples of its period this building forms part of the imposing heritage of Palazzi built by the Sicilian, Spanish and local nobility in Mdina. The oldest part of the building dates back to the 13th century.
In the early 19th century the property was inherited by the Vice-Admiral Michele Falsone, who was the head of the Town Council. In 1530 it is recorded that Grand Master L’Isle Adam was hosted by Maltese Nobles at Palazzo Falson after Malta was donated to the Knights of the Order of St John by Emperor Charles V.
In 1927 the Palazzo was bought by Captain Olof Frederick Gollcher OBE (1889-1962), who was a painter, scholar and philanthropist, and was very concerned with the conservation of the cultural heritage of the Maltese islands. He was also a discerning collector of objets d’art and historical relics. Included in his forty-five variable collections are paintings, silver, furniture, jewellery, oriental rugs and armoury, to mention but a few.
In 2001, Fondazzjoni Patrimonju Malti (a Maltese Heritage Foundation) embarked on the arduous task of restoring and conserving the Palazzo together with its various collections. By setting-up this house-museum, which is one of the finest cultural attractions on the island. Patrimonju is fulfilling Gollcher’s wish by bringing to the general public this unique and extraordinary treasure-trove.